Huck Seed Is The Newest Inductee Into Poker Hall of Fame!

After a voting by the 30 of the 31 living member of the Poker Hall of Fame, the 1996 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event champion and four-time WSOP bracelet winner, Huckleberry “Huck” Seed, has earned the honor of becoming the newest member of the prestigious Poker Hall of Fame.

“Hearing the news that I am being inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame this year brought back memories of my early poker days, walking into the Binion’s Horseshoe, about to start a poker session, admiring all the Poker Hall of Famers on the wall.It feels good to be included with all the poker legends that I once idolized and competed against over the years. Thank you everyone.”- Seed.

A Little About Seed & His Poker Career

A Las Vegas resident, Seed is a four-time bracelet winner and has raked in more than $7.6 million in live earnings over the course of his career. He won his career best $1 million at the 1996 WSOP Main Event, defeating Bruce Van Horn heads-up. Apart from his $1million score in the Main Event, he earned bracelets in the 1994 $2,500 pot-limit Omaha, the 2000 $1,500 razz and the 2003 $5,000 razz.

Seed also won the NBC National Heads-Up Championship in 2009 for $500,000 in top prizemoney, and in 2010 he prevailed in the World Series of Poker Tournament of Champions to win $500,000..

Seed’s career dates back to over a decade before the poker boom. He started playing full time in 1989 and his first live tournament cash came in 1990. He won his first WSOP bracelet in 1994 when he championed the $2,500 Pot-Limit Omaha event for $167,000. Seed is a tall man and stands out in a poker room at 6 feet 7 inches tall. An excellent athlete during his youth, he was also an all-state basketball player in high school and played at Caltech, where he majored in electrical engineering.

His Induction Into Poker Hall Of Fame 2020

With one abstention, the 30 of the 31 living Hall of Fame members cast ballots. They could distribute 10 points to choose from 10 nominees who included the likes of PokerStars founder Isai Scheinberg and first-time nominee Patrik Antonius. Seed received 76 of the 300 votes. Longtime tournament director Matt Savage finished second with 51 votes, while Isai Scheinberg was third with 45 votes.

The rest of the voting was as follows:

Huckleberry Seed – 76 Votes
Matt Savage – 51 Votes
Isai Scheinberg – 45 Votes
Eli Elezra – 30 Votes
Antonio Esfandiari – 23 Votes
Lon McEachern and Norman Chad – 20 Votes
Ted Forrest – 20 Votes
Mike Matusow – 17 Votes
Patrik Antonius – 15 Votes
Chris Ferguson – 3 Votes

Seed becomes the 59th member of the Poker Hall of Fame and follows in the footsteps of Chris Moneymaker and David Oppenheim, who comprised the class of 2019.