WSOP 2021: Connor Drinan Takes Down His Second Bracelet in Event #5: $1,500 Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better

The 32-year-old poker pro Connor Drinan won his second career WSOP bracelet and the $163,252 first-place prize Sunday night after defeating Travis Pearson heads-up in the WSOP 2021 Event #5: $1,500 Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better. His career-first bracelet had come last September when he shipped the final tournament of the 2020 WSOP Online Series – Event #83: $10K Super Millions for a personal-best $1.40 Million. Event #5 drew 607 players, and only 230 made it to Day 2. Drinan was chip leading the 15 players who returned for the final day and used his chip advantage to win the title.

“I just played my normal game and ran good,” Connor said when asked about his grand victory.

Scott Baumstein (11th for $10,072) bubbled the final table. The final table began with Drinan as the chip leader. He extended his lead by eliminating Yehuda Buchalter shortly after the FT began.

Michael Moed took ninth place. It took over an hour for the next elimination, and once again, it was Drinan doing the honors. He eliminated Curtis Phelps in eighth place to pull ahead into a maasive chip lead with two million chips. Up next, it was James Pearson who eliminated Kris Kwiatkowski in seventh place and took over the chip lead with over five million chips to move into the six-handed play.

Carl Lijewski and Micah Brooks were the next to follow and the latter was busted at the hands of Drinan. With Sandy Sanchez getting eliminated in fourth place, it came to the three-handed play.

It didn’t take too long for Drinan to score his fourth final table elimination by sending four-time bracelet winner Robert Mizrachi packing in third place. With that, Drinan took a commanding lead into the heads-up holding an 11 Million stack against Travis Pearson’s 4 Million chips. The heads-up for the title lasted less than an hour, with Drinan finally walking away with his second WSOP bracelet.

Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Connor Drinan – $163,252
  2. Travis Pearson – $100,901
  3. Robert Mizrachi – $71,602
  4. Sandy Sanchez – $51,590
  5. Micah Brooks – $37,750
  6. Carl Lijewski – $28,059
  7. Kris Kwiatokowski – $21,192
  8. Curtis Phelps – $16,266
  9. Michael Moed – $12,693
  10. Yehuda Buchalter – $10,072