WSOP 2022: Michael Wang Wins Second Bracelet In Event #87: $5K 8-Handed NLHE, India’s Kartik Ved Finishes 4th For $172,103

The 2022 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Event #87: $5,000 8-Handed No-Limit Hold’em concluded with USA’s Michael Wang winning it to claim his second bracelet and $541,604 in prize money. Wang bested a field of 573 players including Colombia’s Farid Jattin (runner-up for $334,747) in heads-up.

Wang had won his first WSOP bracelet seven years ago in Event #2: $5,000 No-Limit Hold’em at the 2015 WSOP. With the latest bracelet win, he boosted his WSOP winnings to a  massive $1,210,278.

Will Nguyen was the first casualty from the final table. He hit the rail in eighth place after his pocket tens lost out to the WSOP bracelet winner Kartik Ved’s Ad Qd. He was followed by Fred Goldberg and Billy O’Neil in seventh and sixth places, respectively. Up next, it was Yuval Bronshtein bowing out in fifth place. He was busted by Farid Jatin whose Ad 10d bested the As 7h of Bronshtein.

Exiting in fourth place was India’s Kartik Ved. The former bracelet winner, who has cashed eight events at this year’s serie, entered the final table as a chip leader but could not go all the way. He got off to a good start at the FT but lost his massive stack by the time the field whittled down to four players. He helped Bronshtein double up and then doubled Erik Seidel two times before bowing out in fourth place. Ved’s last hand saw him with pocket sevens that failed to hold up against the Kc Jd of Jattin. Ved walked away with $172,103 for his fourth place finish – his second FT at the WSOP 2022.

Jattin continued his hot run and went on to eliminate nine-time bracelet WSOP winner Erik Seidel next in a preflop all-in showdown. The latter held Qc-Kc against Jattin’s pocket eights, which held up.

Wang entered the heads-up with a 6:1 chip deficit to Jattin and went on to score a couple of double-ups to snatch the chip lead. Finally, it all ended with Jattin going all-in preflop for 2,000,000 with Qc 4d. Wang held 6s 3d. The board ran out 4s 3s 3c 9s 3h, giving Wang quads to win the coveted title. 

Final Table Payouts (USD)

  1. Michael Wang – $541,604
  2. Farid Jattin – $334,747
  3. Erik Seidel – $238,321
  4. Kartik Ved – $172,103
  5. Yuval Bronshtein – $126,089
  6. Billy O’Neil – $83,740
  7. Fred Goldberg – $70,734
  8. Will Nguyen – $54,185