WSOP 2022: The Main Event Reaches Unofficial Final Table With Jorstad & Su In Lead

The unofficial final table of the world’s most popular poker tournament is set with only 10 players remaining in Event #70: $10,000 No-Limit Hold’em Main Event World Championship at the 2022 World Series of Poker. The final table kicks off on Friday with Norway’s Espen Jorstad and United States’ Matthew Su in lead as both players will return with 83,200,000 chips, good for 69 big blinds.

Matija Dobric (68,650,000 chips), Aaron Duczak (56,000,000), John Eames (54,950,000), Adrian Attenborough (50,800,000), Michael Duek (49,775,000), Jeffrey Farnes (35,350,000), Asher Conniff (29,400,000), & Philippe Souki (13,500,000) are the others who will be returning for Day 8 on Friday.

Marco Johnson (35th for $262,300), 2020 WSOP Main Event champion Damian Salas (27th for $262,300), Aaron Mermelstein (20th for  $323,100), last woman standing Efthymia Litsou (18th for $323,100) & Kenny Tran (17th – $410,000) were some of the notables who failed to make it to Day 8. 

As many as 8,663 players began the tournament, and after grinding it out over the past week, only 35 players made it to Day 7 with aspirations of reaching the prestigious Main Event final table. Only 10 players survived after the end of a marathon Day 7, and one of them will earn the bragging rights for winning the coveted title for a life-changing $10,000,000 and the prestigious gold bracelet.

Originally, it was planned to play down to nine players, but after a marathon day that lasted for 17 hours, a decision was made to stop play shortly after 6 a.m in morning. The play was halted after the elimination of Robert Welch in 11th place ($675,000). There will be a day off on July 14, and play will resume on on Friday, July 15th at 2 p.m. local time, where these ten will play down to four finalists. All the remaining players will battle it out on a single table, which slated to be streamed on PokerGO.

End of Day 7 Chip Counts

  1. Espen Jorstad – 83,200,000
  2. Matthew Su – 83,200,000
  3. Matija Dobric – 68,650,000
  4. Aaron Duczak – 56,000,000
  5. John Eames – 54,950,000
  6. Adrian Attenborough – 50,800,000
  7. Michael Duek – 49,775,000
  8. Jeffrey Farnes – 35,350,000
  9. Asher Conniff – 29,400,000
  10. Philippe Souki – 13,500,000