New Year Carnival Final Day: Ankit Wadhawan, Sahil Mahboobani & Arsh Grover Headline the Day

Wishing you all a very happy New Year!

The first day of the New Year was an action-packed affair on India’s largest poker site with the site wrapping up its highly successful New Year Carnival series. The final day of the high-value series had three events running, and they all did well, drawing in guarantee-busting turnouts.

The day belonged to the top regs with Ankit “d00mtr00p3r” Wadhawan headlining them. Online MTT crusher Wadhawan took down the day’s headliner 20 Lac GTD Roller Coaster, winning INR 7.02 Lac and starting the New Year with a bang. Laksh “boomtilt23” Pal Singh narrowly missed out on the title, finishing runner-up and walking away with INR 4.18 Lac for his deep finish in the mega tourney.

  • Buy-in: 10,999
  • Total Entries: 270
  • Prize pool: 27 Lac
  • Places Paid: 27

Wadhawan topped a guarantee-busting 270 entry-field and a strong six-handed final table featuring  Vishal “GigaaBet” Bajaj (3rd for INR 3,14,550),Vijay “GajaniG” Pandit (5th for INR 1,55,250), and Arsh “bigggtymer” Grover (7th for INR 87,750) to take the title and lion’s share of the 27 Lac prize pool.

17.5 Lac GTD  Carousel

Featuring a buy-in of INR 4,999, the 17.5 Lac GTD Carousel was the second biggest guaranteed tourney on the final day of the New Year Carnival. The high-value tourney brought in an impressive 417 entrants to comfortably crush its listed guarantee and generate a prize pool of INR 18.95 Lac.

  • Buy-in: 4,999
  • Total Entries:417
  • Prize pool: 18.95 Lac
  • Places Paid: 43

After several hours of intense battle, Sahil “imhighishove” Mahboobani came out on top to win the title for INR 4.70 Lac, with Utkarsh “Mathfane” Somaaieyaa finishing runner-up for INR 2,84290.

Aishwary Sharma aka “boosterx” (3rd for INR 199003), Mohit “tinda2706” Mittal (4th for INR 1,51,621), Sashank “TheTamizhDurrr” Chakravarthy (5th for INR 98,554), Aarchit “Aarchit” Dhadwal (6th for INR 66,334), Nitin “JeeneNhiDunga” Rawat (7th for INR 52,120), and Sreekanth “n0thing” Narayan (8th for INR 42,643) were the other notable players who ended their run on the Carousel’s final table.

7.5 Lac GTD Gravitron

Arsh “bigggtymer” Grover was the last player standing in the 7.5 Lac GTD Gravitron and won INR 1.49 Lac in the top prize. Mohit “FloatingMonkey” Bohra (runner-up for INR 110426), and Prateek “dabangg2” Sharma (3rd for INR 81,790) were the other notable players to secure podium finishes.

  • Buy-in: 2499
  • Total Entries: 314
  • Prize Pool:7.5 Lac
  • Places Paid: 31

Keep following Online Poker News (OPN) for the latest updates and news from tournament poker.