WSOP Event#55: Matthew Ashton wins the $50,000 Poker Players Championship

Matthew AshtonToday morning a new poker star has marked his name in World Series of Poker (WSOP) bracelet-winner list along with some of the most renowned poker players by winning the Event#55: $50,000 Poker Players Championship. Matthew Ashton, an Englishman has never thought while entering the 2013 WSOP that he will be a household name after one month. With the presence of some of the most experienced poker players like David Benyamine, John Hennigan, Jonathan Dumahel and Don Nguyen among others on the final table, it was never easy for the champion to grab the victory. Ashton has already finished three times on final table and after this win he has replaced Daniel Negreanu from the top-spot of WSOP Player of the Year list.

Before Matthew Ashton, other players who have won the trophy of Poker Players Championship in the past are Brian Rast, Michael Mizrachi, David Bach, Scotty Nguyen, Freddy Deeb and Chip Reese.

The first player to leave the final table was 2010 WSOP Main Event winner Jonathan Duhamel. He was eliminated by George Danzer in a hand of Pot-Limit Omaha. Mike Wattle got busted in a hand of No Limit Hold’em and Minh ly followed him in no time. After the elimination of Denzer the remaining four played their best game of poker for over three hours. David Benyamine was the first one to leave the last four.

Before eliminating Nguyen for second place, the champion kicked out John Hennigan for the third place. It’s a splendid win for Ashton in his short poker career.

Final Table Result.

Rank Player Prize
1. Matthew Ashton $1,774,089
2. Don Nguyen $1,096,254
3. John Hennigan $686,568
4. David Benyamine $497,122
5. George Danzer $388,523
6. Minh Ly $309,830
7. Mike Wattel $251,602
8. Jonathan Duhamel $207,630


 Event#56: $2,500 No Limit Hold’em

Earlier on Thursday, Nikolaus Teichert has outplayed a vast field of players in Event#56: $2,500 No Limit Hold’em to win the bracelet. This first time WSOP bracelet winner went head to head with Vincent Maglio on Thursday to decide who will get the bracelet. On Wednesday, after the elimination of rest of the players, both of these poker pros were engaged in Battle Heads-up for long. By the time game came to an end for the day, Maglio was in lead.

On the final Day of the event, Teichert played some outstanding game of poker to eliminate Maglio. For the final hand of the event, Champion’s A-2 bested runner-up’s A-10 as board came up with an Ace and 2.

Final Table Result 

Rank Player Prize
1. Nikolaus Teichert $730,756
2. Vincent Maglio $452,008
3. Dan Owen $321,516
4. Sergey Lebdev $225,392
5. Josh Arieh $164,768
6. Kirill Rabtsov $122,036
7. Nicolas Faure $91,586
8. Sebastian Comel $69,627
9. Nicolas Levi $53,593