10 Finalists for 2013 Poker Hall of Fame Announced

PokerhalloffameAfter a long public nomination process on WSOP.com and lengthy vetting nominations by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council, ten finalists for the 2013 Poker Hall of Fame have been unveiled. All 10 are eligible for induction to the Poker Hall of Fame but only upto 2 poker players will form the class of 2013.

The Poker Hall of Fame was initiated in 1979 and upto 2 more players might join the already existing elite list of 44. Who is the lucky one who gets inducted will be decided by the 19 living Hall of Fame members and an 18-person media panel — in a vote later this month.

The 10 finalists of 2013 Poker Hall of Fame include:

This years list of ten finalists include four new names from this year and six candidates who made the finalists last year. While Brenes, Matusow, Seed and Mortensen have been inducted new this year, the rest of the six finalists are the same as last years. Seed is the only one from new additions this year who has already made it a finalist list before in 2011. 

The 2013 class will be judged on the following criteria:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

The 2013 Poker Hall of fame will be inducted on November 3, 2013 as part of the celebrations of WSOP Main Event Final Table at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. Since all 10 nominated players are alive, it is expected that the festivities will be grand with all ten finalists in attendance. 



  1. Swapnil
    September 26, 2013 - 7:43 am

    Matusow should win.. He will talk his way to the Poker hall of fame.

  2. Robbin
    September 26, 2013 - 8:56 am

    Scotty has a good record and should be inducted…

Comments are closed.