Tristan Bain wins inaugural APT Sydney

Pic Courtesy: APT
Pic Courtesy: APT

The first ever Asian Poker Tour(APT) Sydney was won by Tristan Bain as ‘The Star’ played host to a huge poker field of 648 players. The four day event, the first by APT ‘down under’ was in partnership with National Poker League and saw Bain win AUD 282,212. 

The tourney began on thursday with two Day 1 flights with 273 players enter Day 1a in the $2,000 buy-in Main Event. Day 1b was bigger as 375 players turned up at the Star Poker Room pushing the prize pool to $1,170,000. While Ricky Lim led Day 1a with 254,300 chips, Meveni Tonga led day 1b  as 357 players entered Day 2. 

Amir Minanagar with 1,318,000 chips lead Day 2 as the money bubble burst and 43 players entered the Day 3. At the end of Day 3, the nine player final table was set which also included WSOP APAC Bracelet winner Jim Collopy.

It was after over eight hours of poker action that the final two emerged with Bain taking on Brent Nichols. Finally it was Bain who etched his name in history becoming the first ever WPT Sydney Champion. Most poker pros from the Asia-Pacific participated in this tournament including WSOP Bracelet winner Joe Hachem, Jeff Lisandro and Jonathan Karamakilis. APT Action now moves to Manila where the APT-RWM Iron Man Poker Challenge will start from Dec 11, 2013.

2013 Asian Poker Tour Sydney – Final Table Results
1st: Tristan Bain – $281,685
2nd:  Brent Nichols – $176,127
3rd:  Daryl Hussey – $95,645
4th: Luca Borreggine – $72,900
5th: Tony Sama – $59,486
6th: Amir Minagar – $47,823
7th: Glenn McConnell – $36,160
8th: Jim Collopy – $25,660
9th: Trevor Saunders – $18,080