ACOP Main Event enters Day 2 today, Kunal Patni leading Team India with 79100 chips

ACOP2013_WarmUp_Day1A_012The Main Event of 2014 Asia Championship of Poker kicked off yesterday, 4th November with 286 players coming in for the ultimate poker battle to win from the guaranteed prize pool of HK$ 15 million. In the events concluded at “PokerStars Live Macau” poker room, Steve O’Dwyer won MBP Super High Roller Event for HK$14,050,000 and Wai Tung Lo triumphed the Warm-up event bagging HK$1,197,350.

Event 8: MBP Super High Roller

HK$500,000 buy-in event drew 52 players and with 50 rebuys the prize pool shot up to HK$48.47 million making it the richest event in ACOP history. With pros like Daniel Coloman, the game intensified to finish in money eyeing a huge cash payout. O’Dwyer riding on his aggressive strategies clinched the title in the end with a whopping 1st place prize of HK$14,050,000. The Irish poker pro holds an impressive poker resume now adding the spadie to his 2013 EPT Grand Final title and over US$7 million in winnings. Although Colman ran deep but he missed out the title after getting eliminated in the 7th place with HK$2,900,000.

Event 9: ACOP Warm-up

Wai Tung Lo defeated a 277-player field in this annual HK$25,000 Warm-up event taking home HK$1,197,350 with the spadie. In total, 31 players cashed for a share of the HK$6,179,870 prize pool. Louis Salter made a deal with the champion in the heads-up as the game stretched beyond 4AM in the morning. This fetched him the equal prize money of HK$1,197,350 even in the 2nd place. Ami Barer (3rd, HK$587,100) and Kiyokazu Nishikawa (4th, HK$463,500) were the other major cash winners.

Main Event Day 1

HK$100,000 Main Event drew 40% higher attendees this year in comparison to 203 players last year. Players started the tournament with 30,000 chips, the first four levels lasted 60 minutes and the next three lasted 90 minutes. WSOP gold bracelet winner at WSOP APAC last month, Rory Young gained a quick lead which he maintained till the end of the day. He will enter Day 2 with 150,100 chips. Other players in the top list of chip count include Asia Player of the Year Jian Yang (147,600), high roller specialist Daniel Colman (102,900) and Joseph Cheong (94,300). A total of 172 survivors will return for the Day 2 of the game which also will see new and re-entries. Leading the Indian contingent on Day 2 will be Event 1 spadie winner, Kunal Patni with 79100 chips. Amit Jain (48,300), Shashank Jain (26,800) and Aditya Agarwal (18,300) are the other Indian poker players in race to the Main Event title.