APT Cebu: Main Event reaches final table


After 3 flights – Day 1A, 1B and 1C and the collective action on Day 2, the Main Event of APT Asian Poker Series Cebu has reached its final table at the All In Poker Sports Club in Waterfront Hotel & Casino. John Tech will return on the final day as the chip leader as he hauled 1,276,000 chips by the end of Day 2.

Earlier on Day 1C, 96 players joined the qualifying race to grab a seat on Day 2 of the Main Event out of 48 survived. Zhou Hongming of Singapore finished as the chip leader with 141,125 chips on Day 1C and he only led the 105 total survivors returning for the action on Day 2. The Philippines’ Jay Lubas (99,000), Kim Enriquez (91,300) and Christopher Runas (80,525) ranked second to fourth for Day 1C respectively.

Day 2 drew an intense battle on the main event table to secure a seat on Day 3 resulting huge eliminations. The field of 105 players coming on Day 2 was reduced to 30 by the end of day’s play. Every player played to his best to enter the list of 30 as only 27 players will be paid in the main event. The Russian Alexey Gatsko hauling 573,500 in chips emerged as the chip leader at the end of Day 2.

30 players joined back the action today at the All In Poker Sports Club to play down to the Final 8. A few early eliminations made the road easy for players with high stacks to finish in money. The local pro, John Tech who finished a runner-up in the APT Resorts World Manila Poker Finale last December finished his day with the maximum 1,276,000 chips on table. He will be joined by two fellow nationals Martin Gonzales (3rd) and Jay Lubas (6th).

The final 8 players will return tomorrow at the All In Poker Sports Club in Waterfront Hotel & Casino aiming the top prize of PHP 2,307,300.

Here is how final table will look like when action resumes tomorrow:

Seat Player (Country) Chip Count
1  Jay Lubas (Philippines) 204,000
2  Joseph Kim (Korea) 151,000
3  Martin Gonzales (Philippines) 622,000
4  Dinesh Alt (Switzerland) 940,000
5  Christian Haggart (Canada) 112,000
6  John Tech (Philippines) 1,276,000
7  Tuomas Urtti (Finland) 454,000
8  Alexey Gatsko (Russia) 382,000