APPT Seoul 9: Takihiro Nakai tops Day 1b, takes overall lead for the Day 2 action

Takihiro-NakaiThe APPT Seoul Main Event completed its second and final starting flight on Friday. As per the official press release, 125 players arrived at the Paradise Walkerhill Casino for Day 1b of the ₩3,000,000 buy-in tournament. Day 1a had 116 runners bringing the total to 241 players with the prize pool weighing in at ₩645 million (USD $590,000).

The Top 27 will be in the money with the minimum cash set at ₩5,050,000 while the Season 9 champion will take home ₩165,590,200 which also includes a 2015 ACOP Main Event entry.

Japan’s Takihiro Nakai leads the 47 survivors — and takes the overall tournament lead — with 186,700 chips. Fellow countrymen Hajime Iwakura (153,900), Hirotoshi Nakabo (135,200), and Masato Yokosawa (106,100) round out the Top Four from Day 1b.

Team PokerStars Pro Celina Lin advanced with 33,400 while teammate Kosei Ichinose hit the rail in the mid-stages of the day. Other notable survivors include 2013 APPT Cebu winner Jae Kyung ‘Simba’ Sim (27,400), online poker sensation Dong Kim (82,700), Winfred Yu (33,700), Raymond Wu (59,900) and 2013 ANZ Player of the Year Iori Yogo (25,000).

Top 10 Day 1b chip counts:

Position Player Chips
1 Takahiro Nakai (Japan) 186,700
2 Hajime Iwakura (Japan) 153,900
3 Hirotoshi Nakabo (Japan) 135,200
4 Masato Yokosawa (Japan) 106,100
5 Taewook Kwon (Canada) 99,500
6 Tomoyasu Arai (Japan) 98,600
7 Masaki Nakano (Japan) 94,200
8 Dong Kyu Kim (USA) 82,700
9 Takuya Suzuki (Japan) 76,800
10 Kelvin Beattie (Australia) 75,400

Stay Tuned to OPN for further updates on APPT Seoul events.