Introducing Gen P – The Generation Next of Online Poker – Kartik Ved

kartik-ved-pegasus1505He lives in Pune and pursues Business Administration in studies. He discovered poker at early age and learnt it with friends and from menttaking time out of his study schedule and completes his assignments when off the felt. His dedication to learn and improve daily at the game has paid off well with 8 online tourney wins and a FT finish in last year’s GAPL. This young lad from Pune is one of the promising stars of Indian poker community.

Presenting Kartik Ved aka “Pegasus1505” in n our exclusive column, Gen P- The next generation of Online Poker. Kartik shares his poker journey, his ambitions and plans for future in a chat with OPN India.

Name Kartik Ved
Poker Nick Name Pegasus1505
Fav. Poker Site
Fav. Live Poker Spot
Deltin Royale, Goa
Fav Poker Game NLHE (MTTs)
Fav Poker Hand JThh
Poker Earnings $23,200

Q1. Hi Kartik, Thanks for taking out the time to speak with us. To start with, can you tell us when you start playing poker? Basically your poker journey till date…

KV – I got introduced to poker in a not so expected manner. I didn’t know any card games till then and was an anti-cards person and till date poker is the only card game I know. I had gone to a friend’s club house to chill, this was when I was 16 and they were all sitting around a table tennis table and playing a 10/20 game 500 buy-in. They all somehow convinced me to sit along and get dealt in. I got hooked on to the game as a hobby and ended up going for house games for small buy-ins and that time it was a lot of money.

I started playing high stakes games and earned a decent enough bankroll for myself to start off. Dealing at these games helped me a lot and learning from seeing the top pros play. The only reason I got into this was to start off with a bankroll and grinded cash games 100NL for the rest of the day. I had a drop from college at that time so that year I had decided to focus on this than waste any time. It was 8 hours of dealing a day and 10 hours of playing home games and rest for some sleep.

One of those days after getting done from work, Pranay (mitarachi89) called me up if I wanted to join him to grind online and hit big for 4k$ odd in the 3R at midnight which used to be 20k GTD at that time. I eventually had to do a deal even after a chip lead because his parents were going to be up for breakfast.

I swung a lot after that and did not follow Bankroll Management.

I applied into Pocarr’s Micro Stakes Stable and they helped me a ton to improve my game and I am back with them now again.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has supported me to start this journey. My college friends Himay, Rohan, Yash to introduce me to this game. Ronak Gidwani who taught me the basics of the game like preflop hand strengths and big thanks to Pranay Kapoor who has always supported me and he is the main reason for whatever I made for myself in poker.

Q2. How much poker do you play?

KV – I play at least 10 hours a session whenever I decide to play. Minimum 4 days a week.

Q3. How does your family feel about you playing Poker?

KV – They were not comfortable in the start but they are okay with it now as long as I get those grades.

Q4. Are you working somewhere?

KV – I’m a student pursuing B.B.A in my 3rd Semester.

Q5. Share you experience of playing live tournaments.

KV – I enjoy playing live tournaments a lot, the first ever live series I played was GAPL Feb’14 in Pride and got 3rd in the ME. IPC is the best thing happening currently to Indian Poker with numbers smashing each time and it’s only going to increase. It’s fun to meet all online regs in Goa and have a chat with them.

Q6. Who do you idolize in Poker, both in India and Internationally?

KV – Internationally, I envy Jason Mercier, Scott Seiver, Vanessa Selbst, Daniel Colman. They crush everyaniel Colman. They crush everytime.

In India, the first name is always Intervention, wish to meet him someday in Goa. Respect Arsh’s (Bigtymer) work ethics and his ability and growth in such a short span. I always rail Danish7 when I have few tables on late in the night.

Q7. What do you do when not playing Poker?

KV – Usually, I finish my assignments.

Q8. What is your one Poker dream?

KV – I would like to go to the WSOP to play the Main Event.

Q9. What should be done to promote poker in India?

KV – Get something done about the TDS, I don’t know if it’s possible but the TDS is sucking out the money from the industry and secondly the rake, 5% rake everywhere is just too much. Relaxation in Tax and reduction in rake is what will boost poker more in the country.