APT Asian Series Main Event Is Down To Final 8; Bansals Bag Impressive Cash Finishes

Resort World Manila has been the epicenter of poker action in Asia since 29th September with APT Asian Poker Series being played. PHP 50,000 Main Event got into action on 2nd October and after 3 flight days and 2 more days of play, the final table of 8 players formed on Tuesday. Yah Loon of Singapore will start as chip leader when the final table battle begins today to crown the ultimate champion. The winner will take home a hefty prize money of PHP 3,758,200.

Day 3 of the main event started with 51 survivors from Day 2 and after 2.5 hours of play, the ITM round was reached with Minsoo Kim of Korea being the unfortunate bubble boy.

paawan-raghav-bansalTwo Indian players – Raghav Bansal and Paawan Bansal were in contention of the APT Main Event title but they fell in the race before final table was reached. Raghav Bansal got eliminated in the 16th place for PHP 167,400 as Raghav’s A♦ 3♦ couldn’t hold strong against A♠ Q♦ of Weiyi Zhang with 6♠ 5♦ 2♠ K♥ A♥ on board. Paawan continued his main event run but was unfortunately eliminated as the final table bubble when he shoved his sort stack with 7♣ 2♥ and met Luke Pangan with 10♥ 5♥ with board running A♦ 6♣ 2♣ 10♠ 3♣. Paawan bagged PHP 334,700 for his efforts to the 9th place.

APT Asian Poker Series Manila Final 8

Roger Spets (18th), Linh Tran (19th), Kai Paulsen (21st), Marc Rivera (23rd), Bryan Huang (27th), and John Tech (28th) were among the other notable to be eliminated on Day 3 of the main event.

Here are the Final Table Chip Counts:

1 Yah Loon 1,338,000
2 Weiyi Zhang 1,202,000
3 Yao Hui 1,159,000
4 Le Ngoc Khanh 934,000
5 Jun Javalera 759,000
6 SJ Kim 582,000
7 Luke Pangan 470,000
8 Herbert Baum 371,000