Nipun Java Claims Event #1 at 2017 Seminole Hard Rock Poker ;Henry Tran Wins Star Sydney Championship Main Event for AU$300,000

The 2017 Seminole Hard Rock Poker (SHRP) is currently underway for its last stop of the season at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Hollywood. The series has crowned three champions so far. The latest champion was the Indian origin player Nipun Java who won not one but two titles at 2017 WSOP this year. His momentum continues and once again he emerged victorious by taking down shipping Event #1: $570 Deep Stack No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry) at SHRPO for impressive $230,849. Joining Nipun is well-known Aditya Agarwal who was one of the early arrivals at WSOP 2017 and cashed out in an 11 bracelet events. Team PokerStars Pro Agarwal had finished in 30th place at the SHRPO Main Event in September ’14 and will now be looking forward for a big score once again.Nipun & Tran

The final table of the event #1 :570 Deep Stack No Limit Hold’em was star-studded and saw many great players battling it out for the title. David Shmuel and Andrea Lloha were the first two notables who got eliminated early. The next man to exit the table was the former SHRP champion Manny Minaya. After Brian Powell went out in fifth place, Java had accumulated over 30,000,000 making up for almost half of the chips in the play. As he was the chip lead among final 4, Java didn’t took long time to beat his heads-up opponent and become the ultimate champion.

“It’s a confidence game,” Java commented about his recent run. “It’s tough to quantify what exactly works, why it’s a confidence game, but there’s something about poker which momentum is a real thing….I think if you’re playing well and you keep putting yourself in good spots,” Javad further added.

Final Table Payouts (USD):

  1. Nipun Java – $230,849 *
  2. Alfredo Guevara – $169,791 *
  3. Josh Robins – $133,824 *
  4. Ana Clara Freitas – $130,701 *
  5. Brian Powell – $79,722
  6. Michael Mehallis – $62,667
  7. Zach Donovan – $46,009
  8. Manny Minaya – $30,937
  9. Andrea Lloha – $22,211
  10. David Shmuel – $14,279

 Henry Tran Wins Star 2017 Sydney Championship Main Event For $300,000

The 2017 Star Sydney Championships $3,000 Main Event is over but the excitement around Henry Tran continues. Henry bested a huge 496-player field in this event to claim his biggest live cash AU$300,000, which is around five times his total live earnings. The Main Event paid out to a total of 54 players. Australia’s famous players Tony Hachem and Joe Hachem enjoyed good run and ended up  among the ITM players.

Tran enjoyed a good run this event and got doubled up right before the official final table. When the final table play began, he was second in chips, trailing only behind Brad Hawkins. The first elimination at the FT came in the form of Chris Tran followed by Suzy Khoueis who got eliminated in 6th place. Next came the turn of the toughest players on the table Grant Levy whose ace-king lost to pocket nines of Hawkins. Up next, the short stack Rafe Aman hit rail in 4th place, while Damon Zhou went out in 3rd place, thus leaving both Tran and Hawkins in the heads-up battle.

Tran ,who was up against Hawkins, started heads-up play in style by doubling up. He continued to extend his lead and ended the game quickly. The last hand saw both players moving all-in. At showdown, Tran turned over Qc-Js and Hawkins tabled Qd-5s. The board was 7c-3c-4s-9c-3h. Tran took it all with higher cards. “It feels unreal. I am so happy. This is a great event, it has such an excellent structure. I really like deep stack poker and this tournament is perfect for that.” Said Tran.

Final Table Payouts (AUD):

  1. Henry Tran – AU$300,000
  2. Brad Hawkins – AU$185,000
  3. Damon Zhou – AU$135,000
  4. Rafe Aman – AU$100,000
  5. Grant Levy – AU$75,000
  6. Suzy Khoueis – AU$57,000
  7. Chris Tran – AU$44,000

Keep following the online poker news (OPN) for the latest poker updates and news!