Pavel Plesuv Wins MSPT Venetian $3,500 Main Event; Kavin Shah & Shashank Jain Score Big

The $3,500 MSPT (Mid-States Poker Tour) Main Event at The Venetian in Las Vegas that marked the fifth and final collaboration between the MSPT and Venetian for the 2018 Deepstacks Championship Poker Series has found a champion in Pavel Plesuv. The Czech Republic’s Plesuv topped a huge field of 1,096 entries to win the title for $640,062, the biggest first-place prize ever-awarded on the tour.


Post his win, the 29-year-old said, “I feel awesome. It was a great tournament, big field, and I’ve been running pretty well.” “The trophy is always nice. I lost heads-up to Isildur at the start of the year. I was close to winning with a big chip lead, but I lost that one. So, winning this one feels pretty good,” Plesuv added.

This win took Plesuv’s live earnings up to $3,112,334 in total and marked his second-largest score. In February this year, he finished runner-up to Viktor “Isildur1” Blom for a $924,841 payday. Earlier, Plesuv made headlines for shipping €25K High Roller at the 2017 PokerStars Championship Barcelona for $478,913 and finishing 8th in the EPT Barcelona Main Event for $187,860.

Team India

The $3,500 MSPT (Mid-States Poker Tour) Main Event was a good tournament from India’s perspective as two of our Indian players Kavin Shah and Shashank Jain also took part in it and fortunately both of them ran deep to cash out big. Primarily a cash game player from Mumbai – Kavin Shah finished 12th for an impressive $49,101, while Shashank Jain from New Delhi, who won HK$ 1,350 + 150 NLH at MPC 26 last year, finished 69th for $9,119. We congratulate both players for their amazing performances and wish them good luck for the other events in Las Vegas.

Among the notable players who cashed out in this tournament were the 2018 WSOP bracelet winner Nick Petrangelo (13th – $38,579), and former WSOP Main Event champs Joe McKeehen (42nd – $11,574), Martin Jacobson (63rd – $9,469) and Scott Blumstein (71st – $9,119).

MSPT Final Table Results:

  1. Pavel Plesuv – $640,062
  2. Yat Cheng – $392,806
  3. James Romero – $291,448
  4. Joni Jouhkimainen – $221,304
  5. Christian Rudolph – $164,838
  6. Karim Rebei – $126,259
  7. Thomas Boivin – $98,202
  8. Michael Sklenicka – $77,158
  9. Mohammed Jaafar – $63,130
  10. Justin Bonomo – $49,101