Schumacher Tops APT Championships Day 1B; Romit Advani Leads 9 Indians Into Day 2

 The APT Kickoff Vietnam 2019 Championships Event is currently underway at the Pro Poker Club in Ho Chi Minh. Yesterday, we reported about its Day 1A, which was played on 16th January and drew a total of 123 runners. Out of these, only 60 progressed into Day 2, including 7 Indian challengers.

The final starting flight – Day 1B of the VND 6 Billion guarantee Championships Event featuring a VND 38.5 million buy-in was played just yesterday and it drew a total of 99 runners with only 49 of them heading into Day 2 of the event. Among the 49 survivors from Day 1B, USA’s Stephen Schumacher ended the day as the chip leader with 275,900 in chips. Towards the end of the day, the player managed to win a huge pot from Vietnam’s Nguyen Hoang Bach and took the chip lead.

Schumacher, the Day 1B chip leader is also the overall chip leader moving into Day 2 with a stack of 275,900. Other big stacks for Day 2 include Dinh Xuan Dinh (245,900) and Soo Jo Kim (229,200), Duy Thanh Dang (213,800),Lim Yo Hwan (205,900),Tomomitsu Ono (198,700) and Tan Huynh (197,500).

Team India Day 1B

Representing Team India on Day 1B are Romit Advani and Abhinav Iyer. Both of them have managed to  advance to Day 2 where they will be joined by seven other Indian contenders, namely Vinod Megalmani (123,400), Adda52 Team Pro Kunal Patni (102,900), Baadshah Gaming’s Madhav Gupta (100,400 chips), Eka Vedantham (86,800), Shravan Chhabria (79,600), Aditya Sushant (79,400) and Dhaval Mudgal (61,100), who have already qualified from Day 1A of the ongoing event.

Advani managed to bag 153,200 to move among top 10 stacks on Day 2, while Iyer bagged a decent stack of 92,200. Iyer has been in great form and has already won the main event in this series. He is also at the top of the APT Player of the Series (POS) leaderboard with 899.18 points.

Top 10 Chip Counts At Day 1B End:

  1. Stephen Schmacher – 275,900
  2. Tomomitsu Ono – 198,700
  3. Tan Huynh – 197,500
  4. Jerome Bradpiece – 181,300
  5. Kwon Eun Ho – 181,300
  6. Edgar Kim – 169,200
  7. Jeonggyu Cho – 159,800
  8. Linh Tran – 159,400
  9. Ajitpal Singh – 155,400
  10. Romit Advani – 153,200