WSOP 2019: Sejin Park Wins The Colossus; Kunal Patni & Siddharth Karia Finish Among Top 100

Event #61: COLOSSUS – $400 NLHE of the 2019 WSOP has crowned its champion in Sejin Park who earned his first gold bracelet and the first-place prize of $451,272. The 37-year-old poker pro from South Korea topped a field of 13,109 entries, which created a whopping $4,382,515 prizepool shared by top 1,952 players. This was the second gold bracelet for South Korea as it came just a week after Jiyoung Kim won the 2019 WSOP Ladies event to become the first South Korean to win a bracelet.

Final Day

After three days of action, the field came down just eight players. Georgios Kapalas entered the final table as the chip leader, while Park was sixth in chips. Maksim Kalman became the first casualty of the final day. He hit the rail when his Kh Js ran into Jd Jc of Andrew Barber. Kalman got straight and flush draws on the turn, but failed to improve further and was busted in eighth place.

Kapalas extended his lead by sending Patrik Miller to the rail in seventh place. Park climbed into second place by scoring his first knockout. Park shoved all-in for nine Bigs with Ac 5s against Qs Qh of Norson Saho. The board was safe for Saho until Ad fell on the river to eliminate him in sixth place.

Andrew Barber was the only player at the final table with a bracelet to his name and he got eliminated when his Ac 3s ran into As Ad of Kapalas. Barber was knocked out in fifth place. Park had taken the lead during the short-handed play. He furthered his lead by busting Juan Lopez in fourth place. Park picked up Qh 10h and called Lopez’s all-in. Lopez was ahead with As 3h but Park flopped a pair and made a flush by the river to take down the pot. Lopez took home $157,106 for his efforts.

A little later, Kapalas limped in from SB with Ah Ac and Ryan Depaulo checked with 8c 3d. The Kc 8h 4c flop saw a bet of 8,000,000 from Kapalas. Depaulo shoved all-in and Kapalas called. Depaulo failed to improve on the turn Kd and the river 10h. He went out in third place for $208,643.

Park took roughly a 2.5-to-1 lead into heads-up against Kapalas. The two fought it for 13 hands before a winner was crowned. By the time the final hand came, Park had extended his chip advantage to around 5-to-1. On the last hand, Park raised to 25,000,0000 holding Kd 2c and Kapalas moved all-in for 78,000,000 with As 3h. Park called and the board opened 8c 2s 2d 8s Jc. Park won the coveted pot and the title for a $451,272. Kapalas took home $278,881 as second place prize.

Team India

The event saw many Indians and 11 of them made it to Day 2. Only Adda52 Team Pro Kunal Patni and Siddharth Karia among them could make it to Day 3 and the 9 other Indians finished in the money on Day 2. Jaswinder “Bobbe” Suri (285th for $2,246) was the last Indian to be busted on Day 2. Other ITMs included Rohan Dhawan (387th for $1,719), Sriharsha Doddapaneni (430th for $1,521), Shravan Chhabria (704th for $1,008), Vivek Rughani (763rd for $1,008), Aman Kejriwal (962nd for $860 ), Nishant Sharma (970th for $804), Madhav Gupta (1,288th for $689 ) and Atul Nagpal (1,737th for $621). Team India’s run finally came to an end on Day 3 with Siddharth Karia finishing 89th for $4,910 and Kunal Patni exiting in 56th place for $7,219 (INR 4.97 Lac).

Patni has cashed 4 events at the 2019 WSOP. However, this was the deepest run for the Adda52 Team Pro, who is currently ranked 7th in ‘India All Time Money List’ with $454,938 in live earnings.

 Final Table Payouts 

Place Player Prize (USD)
1 Sejin Park $451,272
2 Georgios Kapalas $278,881
3 Ryan Depaulo $208,643
4 Juan Lopez $157,106
5 Andrew Barber $119,072
6 Norson Saho $90,838
7 Patrick Miller $69,757
8 Maksim Kalman $53,925
9 Diego Lima $41,965

header ad banner