Xixiang Luo Wins APT Philippines Championships Event; Jaideep Sajwan Finishes 13th

After 12 days of intense action, the Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines II is in the books with its Championships Event crowning a champion in China’s Xixiang Luo. Running from September 18-22, the prestigious event registered a strong field of 265 entries, each paying PHP 82,500 buy-in. The total field eventually resulted in a massive PHP 19,278,700 (INR 2.63 Crores) prize pool. After 5 days of action, Luo who triumphed over the field to claim the title and PHP 4,594,800 (INR 62.81 Lac).

Day 3 of the marquee event started with 40 players returning to the felts and among them was India’s Jaideep Sajwan who had began the day with 290,000 chips. Sajwan managed to chip-up and had taken his stack to 570k with just 17 players remaining in the field. However, his stack later came down and eventually he exited the event in 13th place, earning PHP 277,000 (INR 3.78 Lac).

The final day began with Luo holding the largest stack. He scored his first elimination by busting Jeonggyu Cho (7th place) whose A9 could not hold against AQ of Luo. His next victim was Jung Seungmook who ran his Jc 7h into Qh 2h of Luo who rivered a flush to bust his opponent in 4th place.

A few hands later, Luo then eliminated Benigno Ledina (3rd place) who had pitted his Kh 5c into Kc 9d of Luo. Both players hit two pairs, but Luo’s hand was better and he won the pot to take 5:1 chip lead for heads-up against defending champion Graeme Siow. The heads-up did not last long and was over within 15 hands with Luo winning the Championship title for PHP 4,594,800.

The last hand of the heads-up play saw Siow move all-in with Jd 4d and Luo called with Ad 5s. The board ran out 2c 7d 7s 2h 6c, missing both players and giving the pot as well as the title to Luo.

Final 8 Payouts:

  1. Xixiang Luo – PHP 4,594,800
  2. Graeme Siow – PHP 3,063,000
  3. Benigno Ledina – PHP 2,129,000
  4. Jung Seungmook- PHP 1,538,000
  5. Juyuk Park – PHP 1,150,000
  6. Jehun Hong – PHP 887,700
  7. Jeonggyu Cho – PHP 704,900
  8. Alex Xiang Wei Lee – PHP 574,300


Akshay Finished 6th in Monster Stack 2

Another event on the schedule was Monster Stack 2 wherein India’s Akshay Nasa shined. Nasa who had exited the Championships Event on Day 2 managed to finish 6th in the event, earning for PHP 197,500 (INR 2.69 Lac).This was the second final table of the series for Nasa who had finished runner-up in the High Rollers 1 Single Day for PHP 786,000 (INR 10.81 Lac). Another deep run made by Nasa in the series was in the High Rollers 2 where he finished 10th for PHP 180,700 (INR 2.46 Lac).

The Monster Stack 2 had registered 190 entries with the top 32 receiving payouts. Guam’s Joshua Chargualaf came out on top to clinch the APT trophy and earn top prize of PHP 1,022,000.

Final Table Payouts (PHP):

  1. Joshua Chargualaf – PHP 1,022,000
  2. Rico Meno – PHP 681,500
  3. Jose Maria Ancochea – PHP 473,700
  4. Sebastian Wong – PHP 342,200
  5. Mohammad Samara – PHP 255,900
  6. Akshay Nasa – PHP 197,500
  7. Zheng Xiaosheng – PHP 156,800
  8. Anacleto Quijano – PHP 127,800