Abhijeet Shetty Wins BPT 15K Kick-Off To Claim His First Live Title & Career-Best Score!

This past Wednesday saw Baazi Poker Tour (BPT) make a comeback to the live tournament scene in Goa. Running at the exquisite Casino Pride 2, the five-event series got off to a strong start with its opening event – the INR 15k Kick-Off Event drawing an impressive field with 257 entries. It was a two-day event and Day 1 concluded with Avadh Shah leading the final 13 players into Day 2 play.

The remaining 13 players returned to the felts on the final day (10th October) in the hunt for the title. The action was a little slow at the start of the day. The first four eliminations of Ranjit Negi (13th for INR 51,100), Shawn Jose (12th for INR 62,300), Prithviraj Ganganna (11th for INR 62,300), and Yohan Patel (10th for INR 62,300) brought the field down to the 9-handed final table where Abhijeet Shetty started as the chip leader. The first elimination from the FT came in Gangadhar Raj (9th place) and he was eliminated by none other than Shetty whose As Qh bested Ks 10s of Raj on a 25 J5A board.

BPT ₹15K Kick-Off Final Table

The next two eliminations came in Mohammad Azhar (8th for INR 1,13,800) and Anant Purohit (7th for INR 1,42,000). Up next, Shetty went on to dominate and brought about the eliminations Charush Bhatia (6th for INR 1,71,000) and Manas Kalita (3rd for INR 3,84,800) to eventually enter heads-up with Saumil Krishnani who had busted two players Sahil Chuttani (5th) and Avadh Shah (4th) in a three-way pot to take the marginal lead into heads-up over his opponent Abhijeet Shetty.

Although Krishnani started with a slight lead, it was Shetty who went on to win the title for INR 8.52 Lac in the end. The final hand of the tournament saw Shetty raising to 75,000. Krishnani shoved all-in with Kc Jd and Shetty called with Qs 10h. The board ran 4s 9c Qd 3s 7c, giving the title to Shetty.

This win was Shetty’s first live title and his career-best score. His previous scores came from Deltin Poker Tournament. He scored FT finishes in the 15K Kickoff at the 2017 DPT September edition (4th for INR 2.17 Lac) and the 35K Main Event at the 2018 DPT February edition (4th for INR 7.64 Lac).

Final Table Payouts:

  1. Abhijeet Shetty – INR 8,52,700
  2. Saumil Krishnani – INR 5,98,300
  3. Manas Kalita – INR 3,84,800
  4. Avadh Shah – INR 2,84,800
  5. Sahil Chuttani – INR 2,13,800
  6. Charush Bhatia – INR 1,71,000
  7. Anant Purohit – INR 1,42,000
  8. Mohammad Azhar – INR 1,13,800
  9. Gangadhar Raj – INR 85,200

header ad banner