Bharat Kumar Is Latest BPT Main Event Champion, Gokul Krishna Wins Big Bounty & Rohan Dhawan Ships PLO Event

After 6 days of intense poker action on board Casino Pride 2 in Goa, the 2019 Baazi Poker Tour (BPT) has come to a close. It was a busy day yesterday with three events declaring champions. The most prominent of the three was the 2 Crore GTD Main Event, which attracted a field of 567 entries and generated a prize pool of INR 2.66 Crore. The top 63 players were paid and when play resumed yesterday, only 9 players were were in the field, led by the well-known pro – Vinod Megalmani.

Outlasting the field in the main event was Bharat Kumar who started FT as 4th largest stack. Going into the FT, Kumar played some aggressive poker. After coming down to less than 1 BB at one point, he managed to make a strong comeback and went on to eliminate some heavyweights like Maria Kirloskar, Vinod Megalmani, Dhaval Mudgal, and the eventual runner-up Tarun Guwalani to finally win the title. When the play got down to 4-way, all the remaining four Bharat Kumar, Tarun Guwalani, Dhaval Mudgal and Vinod Megalmani decided to enter a deal and bring an end to the tournament.

As per the deal, the eventual winner Kumar earned a whopping prize of INR 38.01 Lac, while the runner-up walked away with a hefty INR 36.22 Lac. The 2018 WPT Vietnam Main Event champion Mudgal took home INR 28.33 Lac for his 3rd place finish, while 4th place finisher Megalmani settled for INR 26.55. Lac. It was an interesting heads-up between Kumar and Guwalani. The former started heads-up with a comfortable lead though, he lost the lead in between. However, he bounced back and eventually won the coveted title. Kumar was also in contention for the title in High Roller of the series but he fell in 12th place, missing out on the final table and finishing 12th for INR 2.86 Lac.

Final Table Results:

  1. Bharat Kumar – INR 38,01,000*
  2. Tarun Guwalani – INR 36,22,000*
  3. Dhaval Mudgal – INR 28,33,000*
  4. Vinod Megalmani – INR 26,55,000*
  5. Chirag Sodha – INR 12,28,500
  6. Hitesh Batra – INR 10,39,300
  7. Maria Kirloskar – INR 8,66,100
  8. Neel Joshi – INR 6,90,200
  9. Abhinav Iyer – INR 5,19,700


Gokul Krishna Won 20K Big Bounty Title For INR 5.16 Lac

The penultimate event of the Baazi Poker Tour (BPT) was 20K Big Bounty, which came to an end after a nearly six-hour-long final table play. Coming out on top in this bounty event was the seasoned pro Gokul Krishna.  The 37-year-old who has numerous deep runs to his name but had never won a live title before. His win in the BPT Big Bounty eventually brought him his first-ever live poker title.

Going into the final table, Krishna held the 5th largest stack. However, he played some top notch poker and went on to eliminate Vinayak Bajaj and Gangadhar Raaj and eventually Rachita Salla in heads-up to win the tournament for INR 5.16 Lac. Salla was comparatively less experienced but did pretty to make it to the heads-up where she lost and settled for INR 3.79 Lac for her runner-up finish.

Final Table Results:

  1. Gokul Krishna – INR 5,16,000 (Includes 6 Bounties)
  2. Rachita Salla – INR 3,79,200 (Includes 6 Bounties)
  3. Gangadhar Raaj – INR 3,15,600 (Includes 11 Bounties)
  4. Ritwick Khanna – INR 1,72,200 (Includes 2 Bounties)
  5. Yuvraj Singh – INR 1,74,200 (Includes 6 Bounties)
  6. Gurukumar G – INR 1,91,400 (Includes 10 Bounties)
  7. Sudeep Godara – INR 95,900 (Includes 2 Bounties)
  8. Vivek Rughani – INR 1,50,800 (Includes 9 Bounties)
  9. Vinayak Bajaj – INR 1,05,500 (Includes 6 Bounties)
  10. Aayush Agarwal – INR 43,300 (Includes 1 Bounty)

Rohan Dhawan Beats Ankit Jajodia To Win PLO Title

The third event to conclude on the final day of the BPT series was the 20K PLO and it crowned a champion in Rohan Dhawan who walked away with INR 7.55 Lac in top prizemoney. At the final table of the event, Dhawan outlasted some tough pros in Vikram Kumar, Karan Gandhi, Myron Pereira, Nishant Sharma and eventually the runner-up Ankit Jajodia who was severely short-stacked at the start of heads-up and could not take control, eventually finishing runner-up for INR 5,28,800.

Final Table Results

1st – Rohan Dhawan – INR 7.55 Lac

2nd – Ankit Jajodia – INR 5.28 Lac

3rd – Nishant Sharma – INR 3.40 Lac

4th – Manas Kalita – INR 2.51 Lac

5th – Myron Pereira – INR 1.88 Lac

6th – Karan Gandhi – INR 1.51 Lac

7th – Vikram Kumar – INR 1.25 Lac

After the grand BPT series, it is now time for the biggest festival of the year – WPT India 2019, which kicks off today with its opening event – 20K Kickoff starting at 4pm onboard Deltin Royale in Goa. Don’t miss out on the series as it features a whopping INR 3.25 Cr. GTD prizepool in the Main Event!