Steven Zhou Wins WSOPC The Star Sydney Main Event; Three Indians Score

After four days of intense battles, the 2019 World Series of Poker International Circuit The Star Sydney Main Event is in the books with Australia’s Steven Zhou emerging as the champion from a huge field of 1,124 entries to win the title, the WSOP Circuit Ring and AU$260,904 (~$178,305).

When play became four-handed, Zhou, Edwin Chiu, John Zwaine and Lior Segre agreed to an ICM deal.  After Zwaine got eliminated in fourth place for A$239,007, it was the chip leader Chiu who exited in third place and earned the largest share of the four-way deal with A$269,550 prizemoney.

Zhou entered the heads-up play against his fellow countryman Lior Segre with a 3-1 chip advantage. The dual was over in just one hand with Segre shoving all-in pre-flop with eight-three offsuit and Zhou making the call with jack-nine offsuit. The board ran 65KAA where Zhou’s jack-high was good to win the title. Zhou took home a hefty A$260,904, while Segre received A$224,114 for his efforts.

Team India

The Main Event also saw several Indians in action and three of them finished in the money. While India’s Ashish Gupta (93rd for A$4,361) exited on Day 2, Anish Kumar and Akshay Kapoor entered Day 3 and managed to finish among the top 15 players. A regular in the Australian tournaments, Kumar finished 13th for A$26,729, while Kapoor’s run ended in 15th place for A$26,729 prizemoney.

Notable ITM Finishers

A total of 117 players were paid a share of the A$2,248,000 (~$1,537,570) prize pool. Some notables among them included Hamish Crawshaw (12th for A$32,798), Tom Rafferty (14th for A$26,729), Shane De Clifford (17th for A$22,030), Jensen Chow (18th for A$22,030), Jules Wilson (19th for A$18,344), Germany’s Marc Camphausen (20th for A$18,344), Rehman Kassam (21st for A$18,344), Day 1A chip leader Diarmuid O’Kane (22nd for A$15,444), Andrew Zhang (45th for A$7,598), Vincent Huang (69th for A$5,598), Bobby Zhang (92nd for A$4,361), and Geoff Mooney (114th for A$3,687).

 Final Table Payouts (AU$)

  1. Steven Zhou – A$260,904*
  2. Lior Segre – A$224,114*
  3. Edwin Chiu – A$269,550*
  4. John Zwaine – A$239,007*
  5. Chao Duan – A$107,837
  6. Duy Vu – A$83,086
  7. Huss Hassan – A$64,765
  8. Adrian Attenborough – A$51,052
  9. Trevor Saunders – A$40,689

header ad banner