2020 WSOP Online: Malaysia’s Paul Teoh Wins Event #47 On GGPoker For $82,202

Event #47: $1,000 Short Deck No-Limit Hold’em of the ongoing 2020 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Online on GGPoker/Natural8 pulled in a field of 487 runners to generate a prize pool of $462,560. While the top 71 players got paid with a min-cash of $2,152, the lion’s share of the prizepool eventually went to Malaysia’s Paul Teoh who shipped it to win his first career bracelet and the top prize of $82,202, after defeating Michelle “hu4trollzz” Shah (runner-up for $60,254) in heads-up.

Teoh has been doing pretty well at the ongoing WSOP online series and had previously made the final table finishes in Event #37 ($1,050 Bounty Pot Limit Omaha) where he finished fifth and Event #40 ($2,500 Pot Limit Omaha) where he finished seventh. This victory comes just four months after he shipped the Asian Poker Tour $400 buy-in Short Deck Championship event on GGPoker network.

It was Canadian pro Michael Watson (28.3 million chips) who started the final table as chip leader but he unfortunately exited in third place. The WPT and EPT main event winner got his last chips in preflop with Jd Jc against the 10s 10h of Teoh. The board ran out Ah 9c 8h Qs Js, giving Teoh straight to end Watson’s run in a third place. That hand gave Teoh roughly a 5:2 chip lead into heads-up.

In heads-up play against Shah, Teoh was able to further extend his lead by the time the final hand was dealt. Teoh holding Qh Jd raised to 3.6 million and Shah shoved all-in for around 16.5 million holding the Ah Js and Teoh called. The board ran out Kd Qs 8d 9c 8h, giving the pot to Teoh. Shah took home $60,254 as the runner-up, while the winner walked away with $82,202 in top prize.

There were so many notables seen in the field and some of them to make ITM finishes included the likes of Dustin “JohnSmiley1” Dirksen (12th for $5,167), Dzmitry Urbanovich (22nd for $3,334), Danny Tang (29th for $2,679), Dario Sammartino (36th for $2,679), Dan “oiltrader” Shak (38th for $2,679), Jens “Tankanza” Lakemeier (55th for $2,152), and Manig Loeser who exited in 64th place for $2,152.

Final Table Payouts

  1. Paul Teoh – $82,202
  2. Michelle “hu4trollzz” Shah – $60,254
  3. Mike Watson- $44,166
  4. Andrei “iosif stalin” Konopelko – $32,373
  5. Joseph “MrWheatToast” Orsino – $23,730
  6. Jose Luis “IQUI22” Maslhia – $17,394
  7. Mykhailo “remand” Krasnytskyi – $12,750
  8. Boon Heng “CowBaby” Siong – $9,345
  9. Shota “shorta222” Nakanishi – $6,850