2020 WSOP Online: Vladas Burneikis Takes Down Event #49 On GGPoker For $192,523

Vladas Burneikis is the latest player to capture a WSOP gold bracelet at the ongoing 2020 World Series of Poker Online. The Lithuanian outlasted a field of 2,978 total entries to win Event #49: $500 Turbo Deepstack No-Limit Hold’em, earning the top prizemoney of $192,523 and his first WSOP bracelet. This IS by far the largest recorded score for Burneikis, beating out his $94,667 score that had he earned as the fourth-place finisher in the 2015 Eureka Poker Tour Prague €1,100 main event.

Final Table Action

Burneikis started the final table as the chip leader with 33.6 million in chips. The first player to exit the final table was Jimmy Guerrero. He called all-in with pocket kings and was ahead of the A-3 offsuit of fellow Frenchman Pierre Merlin. Guerrero flopped a set of kings as well, but Merlin made the straight by the river to earn the pot. Guerrero took home $14,608 for his ninth place finish.

A few minutes later, Guillaume Nolet was eliminated in eighth place by Vladas ‘apuokos’ Burneikis who continued his momentum and went on to eliminate Zhewen ‘Polkadot’ Hu, who exited the final table in seventh place after his pocket eights lost to Burneikis’ K-J on the board of J-7-K-Q-4.

The next to fall out was Jeff ‘allin donk’ Cormier who got busted in fifth place. Cormier’s ace-ten lost to Pierre ‘Malaska’ Merlin`s pocket aces. Going out in fourth place was Brendan “doji” Sheehan who was the shortest stack at the start of the FT but managed to chip up and finish fourth.

Just a few minutes later, Pierre ‘Malaska’ Merlin moved all-in with K-J . Boris Kolev called with Q-9  and was the player at risk. The board brought no help, ending Kolev’s deep run in third place.

Burneikis entered heads-up with around 69 million to Merlin’s 50 million. The former was able to extend his lead. Eventually, it all came to an end with Merlin shoving his last five BB stack with 9-8. Burneikis made the call with Q-J. The board A-5-5-Q-Q, gave Burneikis the coveted pot and the title.

Top 368 players were paid out of $1.414 Million prizepool. Among the notables to finish ITM were Danny Tang, Pascal Hartmann, Ali Imsirovic, Pascal Lefrancois, Steve O’Dwyer, Alex Foxen, Kahle Burns, Juha Helppi, Adrian Buckley, Mustapha Kanit, Shawn Buchanan, Jack Sinclair, and Asi Moshe.

Also finishing ITM was India’s well-known poker pro and coach Abhishek Goindi (35th for $3,904).

Final Table Payouts

  1. Vladas ‘apuokos’ Burneikis – $1,92,523
  2. Pierre ‘Malaska’ Merlin – $1,47,052
  3. Boris Kolev – $1,05,732
  4. Brendan ‘doji’ Sheehan – $76,022
  5. Jeff ‘allin donk’ Cormier – $54,660
  6. Ezequiel ‘lafiera8’ Waigel – $39,301
  7. Zhewen ‘Polkadot’ Hu – $28,258
  8. Guillaume Nolet – $20,317
  9. Jimmy ‘KOBE_BRYANT8’ Guerrero – $14,608