WSOP Online 2021: Thiago Macedo Wins Event #4: $800 Double Chance NLH For $161K, India’s Neel Joshi Finishes 21st For $6,149

Thiago Macedo is the latest player to win a gold bracelet at the ongoing 2021 World Series of Poker Online. The Brazilian topped a strong field of 1,643 entries to take down Event #4:$800 Double Chance No Limit Hold’em, securing the coveted hardware and the first-place prize worth $161,637. This was his second-largest recorded tournament and it took his tournament earnings to $785,241.

The two-day event generated a prize pool of more than $1.24 million on the back of 1,643 entries. The final day began with 24 players remaining and Stoyan Obreshkov in the lead. When the field narrowed down to the final nine, Obreshkov held the third largest stack, with Sergei Pillpenko holding the chip lead and Maceo being near the bottom of the leader board. Surpirsingly, the start of the FT chip leader Sergei Pillpenko was the first player to exit the table. Obreshkov then busted Sung Keung Pang in 8th place. Up next, Obreshkov picked up pocket aces against the pocket queens of Ido Aboudi. All of the chips went in preflop, and Obreshkov hit a full house to bust Aboudi in 7th place.

Andreas Nasman overtook the lead as the FT continued. Meanwhile, Obreshkov lost a big chunk of his chips and soon found himself all-in with A-Q facing the pocket tens of Nasman. The pocket tens held and Obreshkov exited in 6th place. Ivan Babintsev’s run ended when his K-Q lost out against the A-7 suited of Mathias Siljander. Tomi Brouk was the next to fall. He tried a bluff against Macedo who flopped trip kings and won the pot. A little later, Macedo dispatched Mathias Siljander in 3rd place.

Finally, it came to the heads-up where Nasman held nearly a two-to-one chip lead over Macedo. However, the latter was able to turn the tables to reverse the chip lead in his favour and finally ship the title. On the final hand, Macedo held Qs 9c against Ks Js of Nasman. The board ran out Qs 9s 6h 8h Kc, giving Macedo two pair to win the title and ending Nasman’s run in second place ($121,209).

Several Indians were seen in action in this event but only one of them –  Neel Joshi could make the cut for Day 2 and finish ITM. Joshi, who had recently won the 60 Lac GTD WPT India Highroller for INR 16.47 Lac at the ongoing WPT Online India, finished 21st  for a $6,149 (INR 4.58 Lac) payday.

Final Table Payouts (USD)

  1. Thiago “IneedWasabi” Macedo – $161,637
  2. Andreas “Duckzzz” Nasman – $121,209
  3. Mathias “Senor Perez” Siljander – $90,894
  4. Tomi “BAAABUUSKIII” Brouk – $68,161
  5. Ivan “Kewww” Babintsev – $51,114
  6. Stoyan “UncleToni” Obreshkov – $38,330
  7. Ido “idollar” Aboudi – $28,743
  8. Sung keung “skpang781” Pang – $21,554
  9. Sergei “Igor Gofman” Pillpenko – $16,163