Thursday Majors: Vijendra Sharma Outlasts Star-Studded FT To Win Godfather; Mohammad Azhar Ships Monster Turbo

The virtual felts were bustling all day yesterday as all leading poker brands continued to drop their high-value tournaments. Headlining the action on was the 25 Lac GTD Godfather. The Thursday flagship tourney sporting a buy-in of INR 5,500 enjoyed a smashing run, pulling in a field of 552 entries to comfortably smash its GTD and create a prizepool of INR 27.60 Lac. The former Iron Man winner Vijendra “sadhu16” Kumar Sharma shipped the tourney for a third time yesterday, winning INR 6.62 Lac and making him the top scorer of the day on the site. He eventually outlasted online MTT reg Vikk “uniquepersonality” Sharma (runner-up for INR 3.86 Lac) in the heads-up.  

  • Total Entries: 552
  • Prizepool: 27.60 Lac
  • Places Paid: 55
  • Min Cash: 12,420

The final table of the Godfather event was star-studded affair with the likes of WSOP bracelet winner Abhinav “checkshove” Iyer (3rd for INR 2,62,200), former Full House champion Sanat “mehro2511” Mehrotra (4th place for INR 2,07,000), former Godfather champion Anil “spewtard” Adiani (5th for INR 1,38,000), the inaugural Full House champion Chirag “cs56” Sodha (6th place for INR 96,600), and the inaugural WPT Vietnam Main Event champion Dhaval “dirtyzoso” Mudgal (7th place for INR 69,000).

Monster Turbo 5L

The other marquee on yesterday, the 5 Lac GTD Monster Turbo featuring a buy-in of INR 25,000 also wrapped up with massive success, drawing in a field of 281 entrants to create INR 6.32 Lac in the prizepool. The top 30 places were paid out and walking away with the title was the last year’s Adda52 Big Game champion and WPT India Main Event runner-up finisher Mohammad “blankspace” Azhar who banked INR 1.69 Lac for shipping the tourney. The 23-year-old reg finally defeated Prashanth “ekthatalli” Sekar who walked away with INR 97,999 for his runner-up finish.

  • Total Entries: 281
  • Prizepool: 6.32 Lac
  • Places Paid: 30
  • Min Cash: 4,110

Also on the Monster Turbo final table were Tarush “tarush123” Gupta (3rd for INR 72,709), Haider “Donktown22” Madraswala (4th for INR 53,741), Basant “Rush99” Kumar Singh (5th for INR 36,354), Aayush “Aayusharya” Arya (6th for INR 25,290) & Arun “runyrules” Sriram (8th for INR 15,806).

Featuring among the other prominent winners yesterday were Pawan Kumar “bubba88” (Won 1.5 Lac GTD Nighttide DST Adda for INR 39,822), Neeraj Sharma aka “ns12pathak” (Won 1.2 Lac GTD Afternoon Adda for INR 36,992), and “amtheman” (Won 1 Lac GTD Dinner PLO Adda for INR 22,213).