APT Philippines 2022: Dave Erquiaga Wins Championships Event (₱3,186,000), Adda52 Game Ambassador Kunal Patni Finishes 6th For ₱824,400

Running from 6th to 18th September, the 2022 Asian Poker Tour Philippines II came to a thundering close at the Grand Wing Casino, Newport World Resorts! Local player Dave Erquiaga emerged victorious after outlasting a 242-player field in the ₱10 Million GTD Championships Event to finally clinch his first title at the festival after five ITM finishes. He eventually struck an ICM deal with the Day 3 chip leader William Teoh, earning himself the APT trophy and Championships ring and the ₱ 3,925,300 ($68,363) top prize. Malaysia`s Teoh banked ₱3,186,000 ($55,487) as the runner-up.

With an impressive six cashes in the festival, including a runner-up finish in one of the High-Roller events and the Championships Event title, Erquiaga (1,568 points) also won the Player of the Series (POS) trophy, racing ahead of Martijn Gerrits (1,072.95 points) and Hernan Villa (1,033.33 points).

Team India

Adda52 Game Ambassador Kunal Patni was the only Indian to final-table the Championships Event. Patni was the shortest of the eight finalists but did well to score two crucial pay jumps, finishing sixth for ₱824,400 and picking up his third cash of the series. The WSOP bracelet winner Abhinav Iyer was the other Indian to cash this event. He finished in 20th place, collecting ₱178,600 for his efforts. Other than Patni, Event #13 champion Jasven Saigal was another Indian to score his third cash at the series. Saigal cashed Event #21: ₱27,500 Monster Stack (30th for ₱34,800) over the weekend.

The ₱75,000 buy-in Championships Event drew in 242 entries, creating a guarantee-crushing ₱18 Million ($316,100) prize pool that was shared by the top 25 places with a min-cash of ₱148,900.

Heads-Up Battle

The eventual champion Dave Erquiaga (7,065,000 chips) entered the heads-up as a chip leader against his Malaysian opponent William Teoh (5,030,000). Since there was a marginal difference between them, the duo decided to strike an ICM deal. It was a short-lived heads-up battle and lasted just two hands.  On the final hand, Erquiaga held 4h 2h against the Jh 8h of Teoh. The board ran out Js 4c 2d 3s As, giving Erquiaga two pairs to ship it and also take home the Player of the Series title.

Final Table Payouts (PHP)

  1. David Erquiaga – ₱3,925,300
  2. William Teoh – ₱3,186,000
  3. Chang Jae Lee – ₱1,977,500
  4. Duroy Gopez – ₱1,428,300
  5. Mike Takayama – ₱1,068,100
  6. Kunal Patni – ₱824,400
  7. Kim Jun Hee – ₱654,600
  8. Wen Fang Po – ₱533,400