WPC-SEAPT 2022: Kartik Ved Misses the Main Event Title by a Whisker, Finishes Runner-up to Ha Manh Tuong

Team India has been taking the live felts by storm with several Indians posting deep finishes at the WPC/SEAPT Vietnam Hanoi 2022 that concluded on Sunday. Just a few days after India’s Nishant Sharma’s WPC High Roller Single Day victory, one of country’s top MTT pro Kartik Ved came close to winning a WPC title. He entered the VN₫ 8 Billion GTD WPC-SEAPT Main Event final table as a chip leader, raising India’s hopes for yet another Main Event title in Vietnam. The WSOP bracelet winner held a massive 9 Million stack on the final table and was in prime position to win the coveted title.

Ved played pretty well but could not go all the way and his dream run in the Main Event ended in second place for VN₫ 2,000,000,000. He lost the title to the local pro Ha Manh Tuong who topped the 1,020-entry field and walked away with the lion’s share of the VN₫ 17,809,200,000 (US$ 751,126) prize pool worth VN₫ 3,226,200,000 (US$ 136,069) for his grand victory after three days of play.

Tuong ’s journey to the final table was a swingy one as he risked his tournament life several times through Day 2. However, cards ran in his  favour, enabling him to scoop up some massive pots and keeping him alive through the end. One of the most crucial spots was when he got in his 15 BB stack pocket jacks against the then chip leader, Kartik Ved’s pocket Queens. He got lucky to avoid bubbling the final table and carried his  good run all the way, eliminating four players to win the coveted title.

There was not one but two Indians on the final table of this main event. Another Indian to final table the event was a former WPT champ in Deepak Bothra. He entered the final table with the second shortest stack (2,000,000) and finished 7th, banking VN₫  480,000,000 for his deep run in the event.

WPC-SEAPT Main Event FT Payouts (VND)

  1. Ha Manh Tuong – 3,226,200,000
  2. Kartik Ved – 2,000,000,000
  3. Nguyen Quang Minh – 1,450,000,000
  4. Eric Wasylenko – 1,080,000,000
  5. Jason Lau – 820,000,000
  6. Nguyen Quang Huy – 620,000,000
  7. Deepak Bothra – 480,000,000
  8. Hao Seo – 375,000,000

A Quick Look Back At Final Day Winners of the WPC-SEAPT Series

Hosted at the Grand Loyal Poker Club Hanoi in Vietnam from 16th to 25th September, the inaugural VN₫ 20 Billion GTD WPC-SEAPT Series crowned six champions on its final day, with Korea’s Yu Je Nam emerging the biggest winner of the day. He shipped the Super High Roller and won VN₫ 1.828 Billion, following a three-way deal with David Erquiaga (2nd for VN₫ 1.131 Billion) & Lee Chang Hwan (3rd for VN₫ 707 Million). There were two Indians cashing this particular event, namely Shardul Parthasarathi (3rd for VN₫ 191 Million) and Gaurav Sood (14th place for VN₫ 157 Million).

Tzai Wei Phua championed the High Roller Single Day for VN₫ 1.018 Billion, with Ankit Jajodia (5th for VN₫ 205 Million), Gaurav Sood (9th for VN₫ 102 Million), Manoj Pentakota (13th for VN₫ 80 Million), and Siddharth Mundada (15th for VN₫ 80 Million) being the Indian players to cash it out. 

Cao Ngoc Anh won the Megastack Event for VN₫ 555 Million. Deepak Bothra (23rd for VN₫ 22.50 Million), Sumit Sapra (31st for VN₫ 16 Million) & Jasven Saigal (40th for VN₫ 14 Million) cashed it.  

Jinyoung Kim took down the Bounty Hunter Event to win VN₫ 337.28 Million. India’s Amit Kaushik (12th for VN₫ 16.50 Million) and Siddarth Singhvi (25th for VN₫ 6 Million) also cashed it out.

Yannick Léonard (Won Event #16: Megastack Closer for VN₫ 204 Million) and Norbert Koh Shi-Fu (Won Event #18: Megastack Closer Turbo for VN₫ 52.76 Million) took down the other WPC  titles.