USOP Da Nang 2023: Chirag Khanduja Finishes Sixth in Record-Breaking Mini ME

The record-breaking U Series of Poker Danang 2023 Mini Main Event is in the books with Germany’s Oliver Schulze clinching the Mini Main Event title! The final showdown for the title saw Schulze in an intense clash with Vietnam’s Kyle Bao Diep. Schulze, despite starting with fewer chips, orchestrated a spectacular comeback, eventually outlasting Diep in an electrifying heads-up battle. His remarkable victory secured him an incredible ICM deal payout of VN₫ 1,056,000,000 (approximately $43,800).

  • Date: November 20 to 22, 2023
  • Buy in: VN₫ 8,800,000 (~$372)
  • Guarantee: VN₫ 2,000,000 (~$82,950)
  • Entries: 935 (659 unique)
  • Prize pool: VN₫ 7,255,600,000 (~$300,940)
  • ITM/Survivors: 117 players

The final hand of the tournament saw Kyle Bao Diep with Jh 5d and Oliver Schulze with Kd 6h. Schulze bet 300,000 on the flop 5h 4s Ks and Diep check-called. On the turn 9d, Diep checked again, Schulze bet 1,500,000 and Diep shoved all-in, which Schulze called. The nail-biting river 8s sealed his victory, clinching the coveted title and leaving an indelible mark on this thrilling tournament.

Team India also shone brightly with Chirag Khanduja’s remarkable 6th place finish, earning VN₫ 258,700,000, and Amit Kaushik’s impressive10th place finish, securing a prize of VN₫ 101,700,000.

There were several other Indian’s who marked their presence in the mini main event, including Kabir Khattar (22nd for VN₫ 45.80 Million), Anmol Mehta (37th for VN₫ 28.40 Million), Vinay B (40th for 28.40 Million), Vaibhav Temani (54th for VN₫ 25.10 Million), defending USOP Main Event champion Vishal Ojha (105th for VN₫ 14.20 Million), and Mohit Bohra (112th for VN₫ 12.70 Million).

Rohit Begwani, fresh off his runner-up finish in Event #26: Turbo, posted another final table finish in Event #31: VN₫ 8.80 Million PLO, securing eighth place with a payout of VN₫ 26.30 Million.

Final Table Payouts (VND)

  1. Oliver Schulze – VN₫ 1,056,000,000*
  2. Kyle Bao Diep – VN₫ 1,084,000,000*
  3. Pham Duy Tien – VN₫ 571,000,000
  4. Tan Kean Wei – VN₫ 421,800,000
  5. Ngo Minh Tien – VN₫ 321,400,000
  6. Chirag Khanduja – VN₫ 258,700,000
  7. Teoh Ming Hong – VN₫ 207,500,000
  8. Guy Taylor – VN₫ 162,700,000
  9. Cao Minh Thang – VN₫ 126,000,000

Keep reading Online Poker News (OPN) and follow us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.