Mercier Missed Title; Altergott Emerged as the New Champion of Season 9 EPT Grand Final

UntitledThe biggest event of the Season 9 European Poker Tour (EPT) concluded in a grand style on Wednesday night with the emergence of a new Champion. For Max Altergott of Germany it was a dream run at the €100,000 Super High Roller Event of PokerStars and Monte Carlo Casino Grand Final. He would have never imagined to receive a huge prize money of €1,746,400 as his first Live Tournament earning. Altergott, who has been known as a pro at high-stakes heads-up cash games is new to the Live Tournament circuit. But he has announced his arrival in a spectacular way by winning such a big event and that too by defeating some of the famous players of poker world.

There were seven players present on the final table with the likes of Mike Watson, Scott Seiver, Sorel Mizzi and Jason Mercier amongst others. All the players were playing with some ease knowing that they have already begged €218,300. The first one to find his way through the exit doors was Mike Watson. He lost his decisive hand to Sorel Mizzi. Almost after two hours Mercier reduced the number of players on the final table to five when he eliminated Scott Seiver at sixth place. Next two elimination happened in no time. First it was Russian poker player Vladmir Troyanovsky who got busted and then Altergott outplayed Timothy Adams for the fourth place.

From there on the game was evenly balanced as the remaining three players were equally stacked. Sorel Mizzi, who was playing so well ran into Altergott and find himself leaving the final table. It left Jason Mercier and Altergott to battle it out for the title. Mercier who started his day as the chip leader was playing tremendously before he lost a huge hand to the Champion. In the very next hand Altergott went for the kill and grabbed the title by eliminating Mercier. Mercier finished second and won €1 million plus prize money.

Final Table Result for Super High Roller Event

Rank Name of the Player Prize Money
1. Max Altergott


2. Jason Mercier


3. Sorel Mizzi


4. Timothy Adams


5. Vladmir Troyanovsky


6. Scott Seiver


7. Mike Watson