APPT Korea: Jun Obara Leads 21 In Super High Roller Day 1; Yasheel Doddanavar Finishes 3rd In Short Deck

The 2019 Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Korea is currently underway at Paradise City, Incheon. One of its key events is the ₩10,000,000 APPT Super High Roller, which started yesterday. The event drew 65 entries (including 11 re-entries) collecting ₩611,585,000 (INR 3.69 Crores) in prize pool.

In this event, two well-known Indians – Yasheel Doddanavar and Meherzad Munsaf were seen in action. While both got off to a good start, they could not make it to Day 2 of the event. Doddanavar entered the high roller event after his third-place finish for ₩7.5 Million (INR 4.58 Lac) in the ₩1M Short Deck Re-Entry. He started well and knocked out Norihiro Otani with his pocket Aces. Later, he won a couple of big pots and was able to cross 1 Million-mark in chips. Unfortunately, he lost a massive pot towards the end of the day and it brought his stack down. In his bust-out hand, he had pocket eights against pocket tens of Jiang Chen. The board bricked and Doddanavar got eliminated.

Coming to Munsaf, he has participated in three events at the series but he is yet to post a score. He entered the APPT Super High Roller yesterday and got off to a good start, winning chips from Wongwichit during level 8. However, he later lost a few pots and thus failed to advance to Day 2.

Day 1 of the super high roller event ended after 12 levels of play. The original field of 65 entries came down to just 21 players progressing to Day 2. Leading them is Japan’s Jun Obara with a stack of 1,465,000. Obara will be leading the 21 hopefuls into Day 2, which is set to begin later today.

Some notables making Day 2 include PokerStars Team pro Celina Lin (1,035,000), Wayne Zhang (865,000), Irshat Shaykhov (775,000), Randy Lew (775,000) and Michael Soyza (635,000).

Top 10 Chip Counts At Day 1 End:

  1. Jun Obara – 1,465,000
  2. Huahuan Feng – 1,115,000
  3. Jiang Chen – 1,100,000
  4. Celina Lin – 1,035,000
  5. Christopher Park – 1,015,000
  6. Yake Wu – 940,000
  7. Lei Yu – 925,000
  8. Wai Wa Chan – 905,000
  9. Wayne Heung – 890,000
  10. Wayne Zhang – 865,000

₩1M Short Deck Re-Entry

The Short Deck Re-Entry attracted 62 entries (including 23 re-entries), creating an impressive ₩54,126,000 in prizepool. Top 7 places were paid out with ₩17,862,000 (INR 10.82 Lac) going to the eventual winner Phachara Wongwichit from Thailand. India’s Yasheel Doddanavar started the 7-handed final table as the chip leader with a stack of 3,530,000. He did pretty well but could not go all the way, eventually finishing third in the event, pocketing an impressive ₩7,578,000 (INR 4,58,935).

Final Table Payouts (KRW):

  1. Phachara Wongwichit – ₩17,862,000
  1. Long Chun Pang – ₩11,366,000
  1. Yasheel Doddanavar – ₩7,578,000
  1. Randy Lew – ₩5,954,000
  1. Tsun Ming Chan – ₩4,331,000
  1. Haoqi Xie – ₩3,788,000
  1. Xiaosheng Zheng – ₩3,247,000

header ad banner