WSOPE 2021: Italy’s Alessandro Pichierri Wins His First WSOP Bracelet in Event #15: €3K NLH Closer (€148,008)

The 2021 WSOPE Event #15: €3,000 No-Limit Hold’em Closer wrapped up with Italy’s Alessandro Pichierri taking it down to claim his career-first bracelet and €148,008 in the top prize money. Pichierri outlasted 228 entries, including Timo Kamphues (2nd for €91,468) in the heads-up.

“I finished fourth in the Mini Main, and winning this bracelet means so much to me,” Pichierri said after his bracelet win. “I know you need some luck in tournaments, but I was really focused today.”

50 players returned for the final day, with only 35 making the money and a min-cash of €5,029. It was a fast-paced start to the day as the short stacks continued to fall one after another.  Vadzim Lipauka (21st for €6,286), Julien Sitbon (24th for €5,893), Tobias Peters (28th for €5,500), Antoine Vranken (29th for €5,029), & Toni Kaukua (11th for €9,408 ) were some notables to finish ITM.

Heads-up Battle

The final table action was dominated by German players with Kamphues finishing deepest among them. The other three German pros included Manuel Fischer (3rd for €62,534), Thomer Pidun (6th for €23,414), and Anil Ataoglu (8th for €13,983). Pichierri started the FT second in chips and played really well to chip up and eventually ship the tourney after beating Germany’s Kamphues in the heads-up.

Pichierri (9,400,000) began the heads-up with a massive chip lead over Kamphues (2,000,000) and finished off his opponent in around ten minutes to win the title. On the final hand, Pichierri jammed his stack from the button with 10c 9s, and Kamphues called with Ad 5d. The board ran out Ks 9h 5s 6h Js, giving the title to Pichierri and ending Kamphues’s dream run in second place for €91,468.

Final Table Payouts (EURO)

  1. Alessandro Pichierri – €148,008
  2. Timo Kamphues – €91,468
  3. Manuel Fischer – €62,534
  4. Claudio Di Giacomo – €43,876
  5. Romain Locquet – €31,616
  6. Thomer Pidun – €23,414
  7. Milos Petakovic – €17,834
  8. Anil Ataoglu – €13,983
  9. Georgios Tsouloftas – €11,295