USOP Hanoi 2023: Abhinav Iyer Gets India To A Flying Start; Wins Mini High Roller!

Indians have been making a splash in international poker arena. Currently in the spotlight is none other than the WSOP  bracelet winner Abhinav Iyer who is taking part in the ongoing TU Series of Poker (USOP) Hanoi that kicked off at the Crown Poker Club on September 1, four months after its April run. Boasting 38 trophy events, the series will until September 11 and Team India’s campaign at the festival has began on a rousing note with Iyer notching victory in the VND 1 Billion GTD Mini High Roller and earning a staggering prize of VNd 830 Million (INR 28.51 Lac) for the epic win.

Iyer, who secured this live title after four years since he had clinched his maiden WSOP title with the Closer win, topped a 96-player field in the Mini High Roller. He  started the final table with just 11 big blinds but made a great comeback by Sebastian Mueller to take the chip lead and then bust Dinh Quang Vu (5th), Amit Kaushik (4th), and Pham Bao (3rd) to enter the heads-up with Husson Pierre.

Pierre showed some resistance but had to finally bow out in the second place for VND 515.60 Million as the runner-up finisher, with Iyer’s kings beating his 5c 6c on the 4c Qd 7d 4d 5s runout.  

Apart from the winner Iyer, Amit Kaushik (4th for VND 206 Million) and Anuj Yadav  (6th for VND 135 Million) were the other Indian players to make it to the USOP Mini High Roller final table.

Final Table Results (VND)

  1. Abhinav Iyer –  830,000,000
  2. Husson Pierre – 515,600,000
  3. Pham Ngoc Quoc Bao – 310,000,000
  4. Amit Kaushik – 206,000,000
  5. Dinh Quang Vu – 165,000,000
  6. Anuj Yadav – 135,000,000
  7. Pham Duy Anh – 112,000,000
  8. Muller Sebastian – 93,000,000
  9. Zhang Jia Ming – 79,000,000

India’s Kunal Patni Posts  A Final Table Finish In Deepstack

The opening day of the series crowned a total of three winners. While Iyer topped the list of winners, Yuan Xin shipped the Deepstack for VND135.40 Million). Also making mark in this event was India’s ace player Kunal Patni, who finished 4th and walked away with VND 39 Million in prize money

Kunal Patni

Final Payouts (VND)

  1. Yuan Xin – 135,400,000
  2. Gorbushin Anatoliy – 79,500,000
  3. Nguyen Van Dan –  52,500,000
  4. Kunal Patni – 39,000,000
  5. Nguyen Tien Thanh – 29,800,000
  6. Park Cheonggil –  22,600,000
  7. Pham Song Hau – 17,500,000
  8. Sablani Jatin – 13,600,000

The third winner of the day was Nguyen Kim Truong Son (Won the Hyper Turbo (VND 50 Million)