Rex Clinkscales Win the Main Event of 2013 WSOP Harrah’s Philadelphia Circuit

RexOn Monday night, Rex Clinkscales has achieved what has been denied to him from a very long time. He emerged as the champion of the Main Event of 2013 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Harrah’s Philadelphia Circuit and received his first WSOP Circuit ring and prize money of $121,095. Clinkscales who has appeared 14 times on the final table of WSOP Circuit has missed the opportunity everytime, but on Monday, he finally captured the title and now is a proud owner of a Circuit ring. This year the main event of WSOP Harrah’s Philadelphia had 351 players on the first day of the event to battle for the title. Together they generated a total of $526,500 as the prize money.

Only 14 players made it to the final day of the main event. Michael Assante was the chip leader with most number of chips and Clinkscales was second from the bottom. Clinkscales kept a low profile and neither seemed to be a threat to any leading player nor a champion. While other players were battling it out and showing each other the exit door, Clinkscales managed to stay alive and in contention for the title. The chip leader of the final day, Assante got eliminated by Ken Silberstein in 5th place. After eliminating Assante, last year’s runner-up of WSOP Harrah’s Philadelphia, Silberstein grabbed 70% of the total chips on the table and became the chip leader as well as favorite to win the championship. But after a while he ran out of luck and was busted out on 3rd place by Mike Jukich.

Elimination of Silberstein left Jukich and Clinkscales to battle it out for the title. Jukich was in lead in terms of chips and both the players tried to outdo the other for almost 3 hours. The final hand of the game was very interesting as both the players were all-in. Clinkscales had pocket 7’s against Jukich’s K-J and the board of the night favored Clinkscales.

By winning the title of the Main event, Clinkscales has also earned a seat in the WSOP National Championship.

Final Table Result of Harrah’s Philadelphia.

Rank Name of the Player Prize Mooney
1. Rex Clinkscales $121,097
2. Mike Jukich $74,863
3. Ken Silberstein $54,614
4. Andrew Rudnik $40,509
5. Michael Assante $30,516
6. Leonardo Palermo $23,340
7. Tony Natale $18,112
8. Jonas Wexler $14,258
9. Beverley Cheney $11,383